blog home Car Accidents I Was Hit By An Uninsured Motorist In Georgia– What Do I Do?

I Was Hit By An Uninsured Motorist In Georgia– What Do I Do?

By Butler Prather LLP on January 15, 2021

When you get behind the wheel of a vehicle, you probably do so knowing that you are fully insured just in case an accident occurs. However, can you guarantee that other drivers around you have insurance? Unfortunately, a significant percentage of drivers in Georgia do not have auto insurance. This can cause difficulties in the event you or a loved one are struck by an uninsured motorist. Here, we want to discuss what you can do if you or somebody you care about is involved in an accident with an uninsured driver in Georgia.

uninsured driver

If you are struck by an uninsured driver in Georgia

According to the Insurance Information Institute, approximately 12% of all drivers in Georgia are uninsured. This may not seem like a significant figure, but that means that more than one out of every ten drivers on the roadway does not have insurance in this state. If you are involved in an accident, there is a significant chance that the other driver involved will not have insurance.

When these incidents occur, the steps that you need to take immediately following the crash do not differ from any other vehicle accident. Your number one priority is to seek medical care for any injuries you or your passengers have sustained. It is crucial to let a doctor conduct an evaluation and determine what type of medical care that you need.

If you are able to safely do so at the scene of a crash and are not severely injured, you can begin gathering evidence that can be used to prove liability (this is important for filing an uninsured motorist claim). This can include taking photographs of everything at the scene of the crash, getting the names and contact information of any eyewitnesses, and trying to get the driver’s license information and insurance information of the other driver. Be aware that if the other driver does not have insurance, they may be very hesitant to speak to you at all. In fact, it is not uncommon for drivers without insurance to leave the scene of the crash. It is important that you do not attempt to force another driver to give you their information. Make sure that law enforcement officials come to the scene of the crash so that they can handle other driver involved. If the other driver does not have insurance, they will be cited by law enforcement.

Does Georgia require uninsured motorist coverage?

Every state requires that their drivers carry insurance in order to remain legal on the roadway. In Georgia, the law requires that all drivers carry the following insurance minimums:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident

Absent from this requirement is uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Georgia law requires neither, and this can cause significant problems for our residents. Uninsured and underinsured bodily injury and property damage coverage can be incredibly beneficial in the event you are struck by a driver without insurance or a driver that does not have enough insurance to cover your losses. This type of insurance is not too expensive, and we strongly recommend that all drivers consider purchasing this additional policy.

In the event you are struck by an uninsured driver and you do have uninsured motorist coverage, you need to call your insurer and begin the process of recovering the compensation you deserve. Contact our Atlanta car accident lawyers today.

Posted in: Car Accidents

I was in a complex premises liability case involving a multinational corporations. Mr. Butler & his associates were always three steps ahead of these defendants. When they say they are "exceptional trial lawyers," this is not just a slogan but it is a way of life.”
- Zack Hendon