blog home Car Accidents Minimum Insurance Amounts in Georgia

Minimum Insurance Amounts in Georgia

By Butler Prather LLP on October 11, 2022

Every driver in the state of Georgia is required to carry insurance if they want to legally operate a vehicle. However, individuals are often confused about the types of insurance and the minimum amount of insurance they are required to carry. Here, we want to discuss the minimum insurance amounts that all drivers must obtain in order to remain legal in Georgia.

What the Law Requires for Auto Insurance in Georgia

Every state across the country has specific requirements for drivers when it comes to automobile insurance. In the state of Georgia, the law currently requires the following types and minimums concerning car insurance:

  • Bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability of $25,000 per accident

Even though this may not seem like much, we want to be fair to the state of Georgia. This is more than many other states require, particularly when it comes to property damage liability requirements. However, all of this is still fairly low. The reality is that even a moderate-severity vehicle accident could quickly result in these insurance limitations being reached.

Should You Obtain Additional Insurance Coverage?

When drivers wonder if they should obtain additional insurance above and beyond what state law requires, sometimes they will not have a choice. Any driver who makes payments on a financed vehicle or payments on a leased vehicle will almost certainly be required by the financing company to carry additional types of insurance. Typically, this includes:

  • Collision coverage. Collision coverage protects drivers who are involved in collisions with other vehicles or fixed objects.
  • Comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive coverage provides protection from unexpected damage, including trees, hitting an animal, or damage caused by vehicle theft.
  • GAP insurance. This type of coverage helps pay for damage to the vehicle if the owner owes more on the vehicle than what the appraised value of the vehicle is.

Additionally, even though uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage is not required under Georgia law, we always encourage drivers to carry these types of insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage is designed to help individuals pay for property damage in an accident caused by a driver who does not have high enough policy limits to cover the damage that has been done. Uninsured motorist coverage is designed to pay compensation to drivers in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or a hit-and-run driver.

Finally, for bodily injury liability and property damage liability, we encourage drivers to carry more than what state law currently requires. This will help ensure that drivers are protected in the event they cause an accident and the expenses incurred by the other party are fairly high.

In the event insurance limitations are not sufficient to cover the other party’s expenses, drivers could face a personal injury lawsuit from the other party to cover anything the insurance will not pay for it.

If you or somebody you love has been involved in an accident caused by the actions of another driver, we encourage you to reach out to a skilled car accident lawyer in Georgia. An attorney will help you recover the compensation you need through an insurance settlement or, if necessary, a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.

Posted in: Car Accidents

I was in a complex premises liability case involving a multinational corporations. Mr. Butler & his associates were always three steps ahead of these defendants. When they say they are "exceptional trial lawyers," this is not just a slogan but it is a way of life.”
- Zack Hendon