blog home Car Accidents What If I Am In A Georgia Accident With An Out-Of-State Driver?

What If I Am In A Georgia Accident With An Out-Of-State Driver?

By Butler Prather LLP on January 25, 2021

Being involved in an accident can be a scary and confusing experience. Vehicle accidents can become even more confusing in the event you are involved in an accident with an out-of-state driver. This is not all that uncommon in Georgia. After all, not only are we a tourist destination of our own in many ways, but drivers throughout the country travel through our state to get to and from their tourist destinations, particularly those traveling to our southern neighbor. Here, we want to discuss what you can do if you are involved in an accident with an out-of-state driver.

out of state driver

Do not worry too much about accidents involving out-of-state drivers

As we mentioned above, Georgia has plenty of out-of-state drivers coming through on a daily basis. In some cases, drivers are coming here to enjoy some of our many attractions, whether that be our beautiful beaches, the bustling city of Atlanta, or other common attractions throughout the state. We also have plenty of drivers driving North and South heading to and from Florida.

The reality is that drivers in Georgia do not need to be more concerned about accidents caused by out-of-state drivers than they do for accidents involving Georgia drivers. If a driver is insured in their home state, and they will have insurance when they come to Georgia. Even if a driver is from a state that uses a “no-fault” insurance system, their insurance will automatically convert to a “fault-based” insurance policy when they are driving in Georgia.

If drivers are from a state with lower minimum requirements than Georgia, then the insurance carrier will automatically increase those limits to the Georgia minimums.

Minimum required insurance in Georgia

Every state sets limits on the amount of insurance that they require their drivers to have to remain legal on the roadway. In Georgia, all drivers must carry the following types and minimums to remain legal:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident

The minimum insurance requirements are designed to kick in if a Georgia driver is responsible for causing an accident. If a driver in Georgia is injured in an accident caused by another driver, then the at-fault driver’s insurance is responsible for covering the losses.

Always be aware of uninsured drivers

Drivers in Georgia always need to be aware of uninsured motorists. According to the Insurance Information Institute, approximately 13% of all motorists on roadways in the United States do not carry insurance.

Georgia law does not require drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage as part of their basic policy. However, we strongly recommend that all drivers carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Both of these policies will be incredibly beneficial in the event a Georgia driver is struck by someone who does not have insurance or whose insurance is not sufficient enough to cover all of the damages or losses.

Seek medical care immediately following an accident

In the event you are involved in a car accident with an out-of-state driver, your number one priority is to seek medical care. Not only does this ensure your well being, but it also establishes a solid link between the crash in the incident. You also need to report the accident to your insurance carrier as soon as possible. Your insurance carrier will be largely responsible for facilitating the settlement from the at fault out-of-state driver.

Posted in: Car Accidents

I was in a complex premises liability case involving a multinational corporations. Mr. Butler & his associates were always three steps ahead of these defendants. When they say they are "exceptional trial lawyers," this is not just a slogan but it is a way of life.”
- Zack Hendon